Understand inner-source fundamentals: egalitarianism, meritocracy, and measuring success

Is your organization resistant to using open source technology? Warm them up to the idea by “innersourcing” your development efforts. Join our webinar to see how the inner-source concept uses open source, community-style development methods and best practices in internal development organizations.

More

In the third part of this webinar series, Guy Martin from Red Hat and Andrew Aitken from Olliance Consulting, a division of Black Duck, discuss successful inner-source efforts.

In this webinar, you will learn about:

  • The value of creating and providing open project access regardless of rank/position.
  • The benefits of promoting the idea that developers’ contributions determine their level of influence and role within the project.
  • Elements you need to incorporate into your metrics to define success in your inner-source community.

Not able to attend live? Register for the event and receive the slides and webinar recording 48 hours after the webinar.

Less

Date: January 31, 2013

Time:
  • 19:00 UTC / 2 p.m. (New York) / 8 p.m. (Paris) / 12:30 a.m. (Mumbai)
Length: 01:00
Language: English
Audience: Business

Speaker(s):

Guy Martin managing principal architect, Red Hat Consulting
Andrew Aitken GM and SVP, Olliance Consulting

About Guy Martin: Guy Martin helps customers build collaborative communities using open source best practices while providing high-level strategic guidance in the cultural and organizational changes necessary to optimize the open-source ecosystem. He has nearly 20 years of experience in software engineering, technical marketing, and community management, helping to develop collaborative communities for the US Department of Defense, Motorola, and Sun Microsystems. Martin was awarded a Federal 100 award in 2010 by Federal Computer Week for his work on the US Department of Defense Forge.mil project, and he has spoken to corporate and open source audiences at conferences such as OSCON (O’Reilly Open Source Conference), Red Hat Summit, and SCALE (Southern CA Linux Expo).
About Andrew Aitken: Andrew Aitken is an expert on strategies for the commercialization of open source and a leader in the open source community. Andrew has more than 20 years senior management experience in building and leading national professional services firms, including Renaissance Worldwide and eWork. In 2001, Andrew founded Olliance Group with other industry veterans to provide management and business strategy consulting to companies leveraging open source where he has personally advised firms such as IBM, Intel, Microsoft, and dozens of VCs and start-ups. In 2006, Andrew created the Open Source Think Tank, an invitation-only, bi annual event that brings the leading global FOSS experts together to discuss the future of commercial open source.

Related Webinars:
Date:January 31, 2013
Time:19:00 UTC / 2 p.m. (New York) / 8 p.m. (Paris) / 12:30 a.m. (Mumbai)
Length:01:00
Date:January 31, 2013
Time:19:00 UTC / 2 p.m. (New York) / 8 p.m. (Paris) / 12:30 a.m. (Mumbai)
Length:01:00