Business Rules in the Real World: The LaSer UK Interactive Voice Response System

Through this case study and demo you will learn how the JBoss Enterprise Business Rules Management System (BRMS) and JBoss Enterprise Application Platform help a large UK-based credit card and loan company to swiftly adapt their Vodaphone Interactive Voice Response (IVR) telephony services to new...

More

Today's enterprise software projects place more focus on maintainability and system flexibility than ever before. The pace of product innovations, newly introduced regulations from various authorities and resulting change requests is increasing. A large dependence on enterprise information systems to support even the most basic of business processes, strengthens the value of being able to adapt those systems quickly, reliably and for a competitive price.

The global finance industry is a typical example of a vertical where the need for controlled flexibility has grown tremendously. Stricter regulations come into effect and software management costs are re-evaluated everywhere.

Through this case study and demo you will learn how the JBoss Enterprise Business Rules Management System (BRMS) and JBoss Enterprise Application Platform help a large UK-based credit card and loan company to swiftly adapt their Vodaphone Interactive Voice Response (IVR) telephony services to new situations. Topics will include:

  • challenges encountered in the prior generation IVR system
  • requirements and architecture of the new BRMS-based IVR system
  • examples of business rules and decision tables that are modeled in the BRMS
  • live demo
Less

Date: October 27, 2010

Time:
  • 2pm EDT (GMT-4 New York) / 18:00 GMT / 8pm CEST (GMT+2 Paris)
  • 9am EDT (GMT-4 New York) / 13:00 GMT / 3pm CEST (GMT+2 Paris)
Length: 01:00
Language: English
Audience: Business and Technical

Speaker(s):

Jan-Willem Mulder Application Architect, ISAAC Software Solutions
Friso Geerlings CTO, ISAAC Software Solutions
Pierre Fricke Director Product Line Management, Red Hat

About Jan-Willem Mulder: Jan-Willem Mulder is an application architect at ISAAC Software Solutions in The Netherlands. He is responsible for the design, implementation and delivery of several applications, including enterprise systems in the finance vertical. His main focus and interests are on JEE applications, architectures and communication protocols involving multiple backend-systems. He has an open source mindset and has been very active in the open source community in his spare time, mainly working on non-Java related projects (e.g. as a main developer/contributor for XBMC - previously Xbox Media Center).
About Friso Geerlings: Friso Geerlings is the CTO at ISAAC Software Solutions in The Netherlands. ISAAC is a JBoss Advanced Business Partner, an internet and system integration specialist with a strong focus on enterprise open source solutions. As CTO, Friso is responsible for strategic technology planning and the coordination of R&D efforts. With over ten years of experience with Java Enterprise Edition systems, Friso's main focus has been on integrating complex back-end systems with modern, internet-based front-ends. Recent developments in open source content management and business rules management systems have been a key area of interest.
About Pierre Fricke: Pierre Fricke is responsible for driving the strategy and enterprise messaging for Red Hat's JBoss SOA products. His focus is to expand Red Hat's market presence in integration, service-oriented architecture and business process automation, bringing the value of open source and community innovation to customers in these markets.