[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]

Help with email issues

Hi All;

I'm hoping someone can help me with some strange email issues.

I can send emails to most anyone except for the postgresql email lists. I've 
pinged 'em several times - even the list admins but I dont think my mails are 
getting through.

At one point I tried to send an email to the list and I got this message back:

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at outboundproxy6.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<pgsql-admin postgresql org>: does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 504 5.5.2 <outboundproxy6>: Helo command rejected: need 
fully-qualified hostname
Giving up on

--- Enclosed are the original headers of the message.


I did some google  searches and found lots of messages like this (they all 
seem to be related to this IP):

Can you perhaps track it down through the logfiles on the MX machine,
using the ESMTP id of the last hop out of postgresql.org/hub.org?

Since it appears to be a mail hosting company who *also* happens to use
postini/google for their antispam, it can be pretty much any domainname
at all, I think... And we can't very well null-route any address who
uses postini as their relayers, becuase loads of legit users do that...


Marc G. Fournier wrote:
> I just checked the lists, and find nothing for mi8/postini or obsmtp.com ... 
> even checked globally (all lists), and nothing ...
> And its all keyed on the From, which is Magnus ... I could ban him from the 
> list? :)
> This is where the duplicate checksum'ng is meant to come into play, but we 
> it disabled, for obvious reasons (key one: automated scripts that use the 
> commit message each time would then ben conssitently rejected) ...
> --On Friday, June 27, 2008 23:56:58 -0400 Tom Lane 
<tgl(at)sss(dot)pgh(dot)pa(dot)us> wrote:
>> Is there a way to not only purge the lists of these bozos, but prevent
>> future signups?  I've not only had enough of seeing them duplicating
>> posts onto the lists, I've had much more than enough of mail bounces
>> originating in their forging my address as envelope sender for such
>> regurgitations.  I suppose everyone else who posts to the lists gets
>> the same.  It's past time for a zero tolerance policy.
>> 			regards, tom lane

I did a ping on my mail server :

$ ping mail.kevinkempterllc.com
PING kevinkempterllc.com ( 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from box54.bluehost.com ( icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=84.5 

and I checked the main IP my firewall is getting from comcast 

neither of them is anything like the IP

I'm pretty good with Linux but I'm more of a DBA - the email/network areas are 
far far from my skill set


Thanks in advance...

[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]