Rahul Sundaram wrote:
Rahul Sundaram wrote:Ignore my earlier mail. I misread what you said. I agree that settings should be retained when disabled. File a bug report.George Hill wrote:When you enable a firewall using system-config-securitylevel and open <Trusted Services> and/or <Other Ports>, when you disable the firewall and re-enable it the settings that you previously specified are lost. I do not believe that this behavior is desirable: I think it would be better for the settings to be saved. That way you could turn off the firewall for testing and turn it back on without having to respecify the ports that you want open. Thoughts?
I agree that the previous values should be kept. It might make more sense for the enabled/disabled settings to be configure / clear firewall configuration. But then provide text indicating current service iptables status, and add an additional button(s) as the enable / disable firewall service button (which could steal code from the system-config-services).
Currently there is no indication in system-config-security that while the firewall is configured it is not actually started ! [ie a place for people to get *networkingly* done over].