[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]

Re: Beagle, what can I do with it?



Howdy,

On Mon, 2006-05-01 at 10:26 -0400, Bob Rowlands wrote:
> On 5/1/06, Leon <sdl web gmail com> wrote:
> > Bob Goodwin <bobgoodwin wildblue net> writes:
> >
> > > I see that "beagle" is part of FC5 and has generated
> > > a lot of files but I can't find any way to make it do anything?
> > > Entering "beagle" goes no where, "bash: beagle: command not found"
> > >
> > > I don't find a "man page" for it.  Perhaps I could simply remove it via yum?
> > > Or is there some trick to getting it to do something?  Google has not
> > > helped.
> > >
> > > Any help appreciated.
> > >
> > > Bob Goodwin,   Zuni, Virginia   w2bod
> >
> > Bob,
> >
> > You need to start *beagled* before you can do anything with
> > beagle. There is no beagle command actually. After you start
> > `beagled', type `beagle-search' to use it. If you don't start beagled,
> > you will get `Search service not running' error.
> >
> > --
> > Leon
> 
> Where does documentation for Beagle exit? Why would it be useful? If I
> don't want it (which I suspect is the case), how do I disable and/or
> uninstall it?

The following is a SUSE linux 10.0 description of beagle. Hope it
helps ;-)

taharka Khufu:~> rpm -qi beagle
Name        : beagle                       Relocations: (not
relocatable)
Version     : 0.0.13.3                          Vendor: SUSE LINUX
Products GmbH, Nuernberg, Germany
Release     : 9.6                           Build Date: Mon 24 Apr 2006
12:49:42 AM EDT
Install date: Tue 25 Apr 2006 08:52:33 AM EDT      Build Host:
nelson.suse.de
Group       : Productivity/Other            Source RPM:
beagle-0.0.13.3-9.6.src.rpm
Size        : 1632097                          License: X11/MIT, Apache
Signature   : DSA/SHA1, Mon 24 Apr 2006 10:30:05 AM EDT, Key ID
a84edae89c800acaPackager    : http://www.suse.de/feedback
URL         : http://www.gnome.org/projects/beagle/
Summary     : Desktop search application
Description :
Beagle is a search tool that ransacks your personal information
   space to find whatever you're looking for. Beagle can search in
   many different domains: * documents

* emails

* web history

* IM/IRC conversations

* source code

* images

* music files

* applications

* ...and much more



Authors:
--------
    Jon Trowbridge       <trow novell com>
    Nat Friedman         <nat novell com>
    Todd Berman          <tberman off net>
    Michael Levy         <mlevy wardium homeip net>
    Joe Gasiorek         <joe gasiorek gmail com>
    Arwed V. Merkatz     <v merkatz gmx net>
    Christopher Orr      <chris protactin co uk>
    Dave Camp            <dave novell com>
    Veerapuram Varadhan  <vvaradhan novell com>
    Michael Bayne        <mdb samskivert com>
    Fredrik Hedberg      <fredrik hedberg hedbergs com>
    Robert Love          <rml novell com>
    Joe Shaw             <joeshaw novell com>
    Chris Lahey          <clahey ximian com>
    Tuomas Kuosmanen     <tigert tigert priv>
    Alex Graveley        <alex beatniksoftware com>
    Adam Lofts           <adam negligible co uk>
    Lukas Lipka          <lukas pmad net>
    Rafael Slinckx       <raf raf wol be>
    James Vipond         <james vipond ntlworld com>
    Carl-Emil Lagerstedt <carl-emil lagerstedt net>
Distribution: SUSE LINUX 10.0 (i586)

> Bob Rowlands <rowlands bob gmail com>

taharka

Lexington, Kentucky U.S.A.


[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]