[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]

Re: [virt-tools-list] Re: [et-mgmt-tools] virt-manager comments



Le vendredi 17 juillet 2009 20:47:08, Daniel P. Berrange a écrit :
> On Fri, Jul 17, 2009 at 09:54:10AM -0400, Cole Robinson wrote:
> > (taking this to virt-tools-list, we are discontinuing et-mgmt-tools)
> >
> > > For the most part I like the way virt-manager works.  However, there
> > > are a couple of (usability) things that really annoy me and I was
> > > wondering if anyone else is annoyed.
> > >
> > > 1.  The "are you sure" popup that occurs when you do a
> > > shutdown/force-off (virtual poweroff).  While this popup may be the
> > > right thing to do in a production environment, it is aggravating in a
> > > test/development environment where virtual poweroff is used frequently.
> > >
> > > I would like to see an option to disable the popup (that is, just do
> > > the virtual poweroff) as either a global parameter or (maybe better) a
> > > per guest option.
> >
> > Yes, I've been meaning to put an option to "Don't show this again" in
> > that dialog for a while now.
> >
> > > 2. The "apply" button on the boot selection panel for a guest, is a
> > > pain (I often forget to do it after I change the boot device):
> > >
> > > Preferred way to work: just change the boot device (eliminate the apply
> > > button).
> >
> > Boot device and autostart are the probably the only changes we could
> > safely do without the user explicitly hitting apply. Only downside is
> > that it would be inconsistent with the rest of the screens. I'm not
> > opposed to the idea if someone wanted to implement it.
>
> I think having inconsistency here would be rather unpleasant. Either we
> should have all the changes auto-apply, or all the changes require manual
> apply.  Perhaps we should have a reminder if they go to change out of
> the configuration view, without having applied changes ?

The "Host Details" dialog has a similar design: autoapplied "Autoconnect" 
checkbox in the "Overview" tab but not in "Vitual Networks" and "Storage" tabs 
(I think the "Apply" button only concerns the "On Boot" checkbox).

-- 
Laurent Léonard


[Date Prev][Date Next]   [Thread Prev][Thread Next]   [Thread Index] [Date Index] [Author Index]