Certifications > JBCD Persistence

Red Hat Certifications:
JBoss Certified Developer in PersistenceTM

Red Hat is pleased to announce a new addition to its line of performance-based certifications — JBoss Certified Developer in Persistence. The new JBoss Certified Developer in Persistence has demonstrated the knowledge, skills, and abilities needed to use the Java™ Persistence API (JPA) with Hibernate® to create, modify, and maintain persistent objects in business applications. As with all of Red Hat certification exams, the JBCD - Persistence Exam (EX297) continues the practice of evaluating knowledge and skills through hands-on, lab-based exam.

About the Certification

The JBoss Certified Developer in Persistence credential demonstrates an individual's readiness for the real-world tasks associated with using the Java Persistence API with Hibernate. The JPA is a Java programming language framework for managing relational data, and Hibernate is a high-performance object-relational persistence and query service that implements the JPA. JPA with Hibernate allows application developers to create, modify, and extend applications more efficiently by developing persistent classes in an object-oriented idiom, speeding up development and maintenance time and providing more long-term flexibility in the applications underlying infrastructure.

A JBoss Certified Developer in Persistence is able to perform the following tasks:

  • Configure JPA/Hibernate
  • Map Java objects to relational tables
  • Map object associations to relationships
  • Manage transactions
  • Create and retrieve persistent objects
  • Manipulate persistent objects

All JBCD certifications have a 'current' window for 3 calendar years. See re-certification policies for more information.

About the JBCD - Persistence Exam

The JBCD - Persistence exam tests whether candidates are ready for the real-world responsibilities of creating and maintaining Java applications that use the Java Persistence API (JPA) with Hibernate. Learn more about the JBCD — Persistence Exam.