Subscribe to the feed

We’ve long been committed to Common Criteria as a baseline for the industry security and stability standards that our solutions are designed to meet. The Common Criteria Evaluation and Validation Scheme (CCEVS), undertaken by the National Information Assurance Partnership (NIAP), is a collaboration between the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and the National Security Agency (NSA). Evaluations look at the security and reliability of the target system, and they are tested and validated by accredited, independent labs against the Common Criteria Standard for Information Security Evaluation (ISO/IEC 15408). In security-sensitive environments, including government agencies and the financial services and healthcare industries, Common Criteria certification has become the de facto standard by which solutions are evaluated, as they provide confidence that evaluated IT solutions comply with internationally recognized security standards.

To date, Red Hat Enterprise Linux is one of the most certified operating systems available. We’ve achieved Common Criteria certification 12 times on four different hardware platforms, and we expect to continue pursuing additional certifications. Today, we’re pleased to announce that Red Hat Enterprise Linux has achieved a new certification. Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.3 on Dell 11th Generation PowerEdge Servers has been certified at Evaluation Assurance Level (EAL) 4, Augmented for Flaw Remediation, with the Controlled Access Protection Profile (CAPP).

The evaluation covers a potentially distributed, but closed, network of Dell 11th Generation PowerEdge servers running Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.3, and also includes Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.3 running under Xen on the Dell 11th Generation PowerEdge servers. atsec Information Security Corporation, an approved NIAP Common Criteria Testing Laboratory (CCTL), conducted the evaluation. Dell customers deploying Red Hat Enterprise Linux can deploy this solution with the confidence that they are doing so at some of the highest security levels in the industry.

For more information on the security certifications and accreditations that Red Hat has achieved, visit here.

About the author


Browse by channel

automation icon


The latest on IT automation for tech, teams, and environments

AI icon

Artificial intelligence

Updates on the platforms that free customers to run AI workloads anywhere

open hybrid cloud icon

Open hybrid cloud

Explore how we build a more flexible future with hybrid cloud

security icon


The latest on how we reduce risks across environments and technologies

edge icon

Edge computing

Updates on the platforms that simplify operations at the edge

Infrastructure icon


The latest on the world’s leading enterprise Linux platform

application development icon


Inside our solutions to the toughest application challenges

Original series icon

Original shows

Entertaining stories from the makers and leaders in enterprise tech