Get your spatial on with MongoDB in the cloud

You've seen what FourSquare has done with spatial and you want some of that for your app. But where to start?

More

By the end of this session you'll have all the pieces necessary to write your own location-based app. The OpenShift platform already has MongoDB and the spatial bits installed. So there's no need to find a virtual private server (VPS) or convince your IT team to install stuff.

What's OpenShift?
It's Red Hat's free, auto-scaling Platform-as-a-Service. This webinar starts with a quick intro on firing up an OpenShift instance with MongoDB. Then we'll load some data into MongoDB, show you how to handle spatial data, and do some command-line spatial operations. When you go home you'll be able to amaze your friends and supervisors with some spatial magic that you can control.

Sign up for OpenShift now (it's free!) so you can follow along during or after the webinar, and use the promotional code WEBINAR.

Less

Date: June 18, 2012

Time:
  • 17:00 UTC / 10 a.m. (San Francisco) / 1 p.m. (New York) / 7 p.m. (Paris) / 10:30 p.m. (Mumbai)
Length: 01:00
Language: English
Audience: Technical

Speaker(s):

Steve Citron-Pousty PaaS dust spreader (AKA developer evangelist), Red Hat

About Steve Citron-Pousty: Steve is a PaaS dust spreader (AKA developer evangelist) with OpenShift. He goes around and shows off all the great work the OpenShift engineers do. He can teach you about PaaS with Java™, PostgreSQL MongoDB, mobile JavaScript, some Android, a little bit of iPhone, and even some Python. He has 11 years of Java programming expertise ranging from data processing and statistical analysis to ORM and web applications. He began doing geospatial work 19 years ago and has done geospatial programming work on multiple platforms using JavaScript, .NET, and Java. He has spoken at numerous conferences, including MongoNY, JavaOne, BAPI, CTIA, AjaxWorld, ESRI Developer Conference, GeoWeb, Where2.0, and SAP TechEd. Before OpenShift, Steve was a developer evangelist for LinkedIn and deCarta. Steve holds a B.A. from Vassar College, an M.S. from the University of Georgia, and a Ph.D. in ecology from the University of Connecticut. He likes building interesting applications and helping developers create great solutions.

Related Webinars:
Date:August 8, 2012
Time:17:00 UTC / 1 p.m. (New York) / 10 a.m. (San Francisco) / 7 p.m. (Paris) / 10:30 p.m. (Mumbai)
Length:01:00
Date:December 14, 2010
Time:Available on-demand
Length:01:00
Date:March 12, 2013
Time:14:00 UTC | 9 a.m. (New York) / 3 p.m. (Paris) / 7:30 p.m. (Mumbai),19:00 UTC | 2 p.m. pm (New York) / 8 p.m. (Paris) / 12:30 a.m. Wednesday (Mumbai)
Length:01:00
Date:January 31, 2012
Time:2 p.m. (New York) / 8 p.m. (Paris) / 12:30 a.m. Wed. (Mumbai)
Length:01:00
Date:September 22, 2010
Time:Available on-demand
Length:01:00
Date:October 6, 2011
Time:Thursday | 13:00 UTC / 9am (New York) / 3pm (Paris) / 6:30pm (Mumbai),Thursday | 18:00 UTC / 2pm (New York) / 8pm (Paris) / 11:30pm (Mumbai),Friday| 01:00 UTC / 6:30am (Mumbai) / 9am (Singapore) / 12pm (Sydney)
Length:01:00
Date:January 20, 2011
Time:Available on-Demand
Length:01:00
Date:February 23, 2012
Time:17:00 UTC / 12 noon (New York) / 6 p.m. (Paris) / 10:30 p.m. (Mumbai)
Length:01:00