Key considerations before building a cloud

IT is in a tough position. As an IT architect, you want to provide the services users expect. But you have to support a complex legacy, which is expensive to maintain.

More

Put your IT budget to better use
On average, 75% of your IT budget is consumed keeping existing systems running. Wouldn’t you rather use more of that money for delivering services that foster innovation, accelerate growth, and help your organization compete in today’s what-have-you-done-for-me-lately market?

Position your company to reap cloud benefits
Cloud is poised to redefine how IT manages and deploys infrastructure. It promises lower operational costs, platform flexibility, limitless resource elasticity, and self-service consumption. But if you don’t plan for key considerations, cloud computing can make IT infrastructure harder to manage and deploy, and less beneficial than promised.

In this webinar, learn the key issues you should consider prior to deploying your cloud, including:

  • Maximizing your infrastructure choices and flexibility—now and in future. 
  • Avoiding application complexity, which can quickly erode cloud benefits. 
  • Ensuring portability of cloud applications and workloads—essential to a fluid infrastructure model. 
  • Instituting governance and control around self-service access to increase cloud security.
Less

Date: October 23, 2012

Time:
  • Tuesday, October 23, 2012 | 13:00 UTC / 9a.m. (New York) / 3 p.m. (Paris) / 6:30 p.m. (Mumbai)
  • Tuesday, October 23, 2012 | 18:00 UTC / 2 p.m. (New York) / 8 p.m. (Paris) / 11:30 p.m. (Mumbai)
  • Wednesday, October 24, 2012| 01:00 UTC / 6:30 a.m. (Mumbai) / 9 a.m. (Singapore) / 12 noon (Sydney)
Length: 01:00
Language: English
Audience: Business and Technical

Speaker(s):

Chris Wells Manager, Product Marketing, Red Hat

About Chris Wells: Chris Wells has more than 15 years of experience working in the IT industry. Currently he is the senior product marketing manager for Red Hat® Network Satellite. Prior to Red Hat, he worked in product-management, product-marketing, technical-presales, and technical-training roles for Quest Software, Sterling Commerce, and Vanstar. Chris has both an undergraduate degree and an MBA from the Ohio State University.

Related Webinars:
Date:September 21, 2010
Time:10:00am EDT (GMT-4 New York)/ 14:00 GMT/ 3:00pm CEST (GMT+2 Paris)
Length:01:00
Date:December 14, 2010
Time:Available on-demand
Length:01:00
Date:July 8, 2010
Time:On-demand
Length:01:00
Date:January 31, 2012
Time:2 p.m. (New York) / 8 p.m. (Paris) / 12:30 a.m. Wed. (Mumbai)
Length:01:00
Date:September 22, 2010
Time:Available on-demand
Length:01:00
Date:October 6, 2011
Time:Thursday | 13:00 UTC / 9am (New York) / 3pm (Paris) / 6:30pm (Mumbai),Thursday | 18:00 UTC / 2pm (New York) / 8pm (Paris) / 11:30pm (Mumbai),Friday| 01:00 UTC / 6:30am (Mumbai) / 9am (Singapore) / 12pm (Sydney)
Length:01:00
Date:January 20, 2011
Time:Available on-Demand
Length:01:00
Date:February 23, 2012
Time:17:00 UTC / 12 noon (New York) / 6 p.m. (Paris) / 10:30 p.m. (Mumbai)
Length:01:00