Red Hat Innovation Awards

We don't like to brag—unless it's about our customers

Our customers make inspiring improvements that affect their lines of business, organizations, industries, and even the global community every day. By using open source technologies to create change, these organizations are proof that when we work in the open, share resources, and collaborate, powerful things can happen.

We want to tell the world about these stories. That’s where you come in.

Our customers inspire us

UPS: Red Hat Innovator of the Year

Innovation Award Winners and Innovator of the Year finalists

Program Details

2018 Red Hat Innovation Awards

How does the Red Hat Innovation Awards nomination and selection process work?

Do you think you have what it takes to be a Red Hat Innovation Awards winner? Now’s your chance to share your innovative success story and be recognized for your contributions.

Customers can nominate themselves for an award, or they can be nominated by others inspired by their work during the two months that nominations are open.

Our panel of industry-expert judges will review and score all nominations, narrowing down to the top 5 winning projects that meet our five Innovation Awards criteria for outstanding work. The 5 winners are publicly announced and showcased starting on the first day of Red Hat Summit.

From these 5 winners, the 2018 Red Hat Innovator of the Year will be selected by the community through online voting. The winner is announced at the 2018 Red Hat Summit, May 8-10 in San Francisco.

Read the 2018 Red Hat Innovation Awards terms and conditions for complete details.

Note: Not all countries are eligible. To find out if your country is eligible, go to section 2 of the terms and conditions. English submissions only.

What's in it for you?

Red Hat Innovation Awards winners will receive:

  • 2 complimentary Red Hat Summit passes and 3 nights hotel accommodations.
  • Speaking opportunities at Red Hat Summit.
  • An invitation to a VIP reception at Red Hat Summit.
  • A write-up in the Red Hat Innovation Awards press release.
  • Promotion through Red Hat’s website, social media channels, and marketing campaigns.
  • Multiple features in on-site digital and print signage at Red Hat Summit.
  • Publicity in top industry publications.
  • Opportunities to speak with key media outlets and top industry analysts.

What makes an Innovation Award winner?

Submissions will be judged against 5 criteria, listed below. Judges will score each submission, and those who receive the highest scores across all criteria will be come out on top as the 5 winners of the Red Hat Innovation Awards.

  1. Business impact: How is your project directly benefiting your organization? Whether it’s impacting another line of business, impacting ROI, or data points showing increased productivity, cost, or time savings, please share details about the project’s measurable impact.

    Example: By creating an application Platform-as-a-Service (aPaaS) as a part of their cloud program, Barclays changed how they use middleware, shifting from offering technology to providing service. The bank cut release time for new products by 70 percent and improved infrastructure use by 80 percent. The bank’s internal users can now work more effectively, cutting provisioning time from weeks to hours and freeing them to work on new projects.

  2. Digital transformation: Have you: gone through a migration, optimized your existing IT, moved to the cloud (public, private, hybrid, and are you using AWS, Microsoft Azure, or Google?), integrated apps or business processes, or quickly built more modern apps? Clearly articulate why you needed to transform, share details of your journey, and where your organization is now by showing us the before and after.

    Example: To meet evolving customer expectations in a competitive market, Macquarie’s Banking and Financial Services Group (BFS) needed to transform the digital banking experience for its retail customers in Australia. Macquarie chose to deploy Red Hat solutions as a public cloud implementation in a datacenter run by Amazon Web Services (AWS).

  3. Open: Is your project leading innovation by building an open source culture, contributing to community projects, fostering DevOps, promoting diversity, collaboration, and meritocracy? Is the project using open source technology to support a broad range of applications and business services? Tell us about it.

    Example: With agile DevOps methods and a stable open source foundation, the Government of British Columbia was enabled to rapidly create and launch services.

  4. Community impact or influence: How is your IT making a difference in the lives of others? Are you improving your customer, end-user, or employees/s experiences day-to-day? Are you influencing an organization or agency to impact communities, or even the society you live in?

    Example: The Government of the State of Jalisco, Mexico is improving the quality of life for its citizens by reducing the wait time of web service notifications from 120 days to 3 days.

  5. Cool factor: Uniqueness and distinct vision for your project showing innovation, creativity, and originality that we haven’t seen or heard of before.

    Example: If you’re booking a hotel or a flight online, you’re using Amadeus technology, supported by Red Hat. With Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform, Amadeus delivers better and faster solutions to customers with Amadeus Cloud Services—and improves the experience for travelers on land, sea, and air.

Dates to remember

September 6, 2017: Nominations open

November 15, 2017: Last day for submissions

January 2018: 2018 winners notified

May 7, 2018: 2018 winners announced publicly

May 8-10, 2018: Red Hat Innovation Awards winners and Red Hat Innovator of the Year recognized at Red Hat Summit in San Francisco, CA

2018 Red Hat Innovation Awards judges

Ashesh Badani, vice president and general manager, OpenShift, Red Hat

Swapnil Bhartiya, journalist, CIO Magazine

Marco Bill-Peter, vice president, Customer Experience and Engagement, Red Hat

Dietmar Fauser, vice president, Architecture, Quality and Governance, Amadeus

Sean Michael Kerner, senior editor, eWeek

Christopher Rommel, executive vice president, IoT & embedded technology, VDC Research

Chris Wright, vice president and chief technologist, Office of Technology, Red Hat

Our customers inspire us

2017 Red Hat Innovation Awards winners

Past winners

Since 2007, Red Hat customers and partners have been honored for their outstanding and innovative use of Red Hat solutions. Check out some of our past Red Hat Innovation Awards winners.

Have questions about the Red Hat Innovation Awards?

Talk to a Red Hatter